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August 6, 2013

To: Collin County Auditor

From: Leonard Higgins

Subject: Changes in Juror Program beginning Sept. 1, 2013

On September 01, 2013, Subsections (a-1), (a-2) and (e-3) of Chapter 61 in the Texas Government
Code will expire. This action will cause the Juror Program to revert back to the original legislation
enrolled in Senate Bill 1704, enacted by the 79th Legislature, which changes the reimbursement rate

for jury service after the second day of service.

How much will the daily rate be for the first day of service?

As of September 01, 2013, each juror is still entitled to not less than $6 for the first day or

fraction of the first day the person is in attendance in court in response to the process and
discharges the person’s duty for that day. (Section 61.001 (a)(1) of the Texas Government

Code.)
How much is the daily rate reimbursement after the first day of service?

As of September 01, 2013, each juror is still entitled to not less than $40 for the second day or

fraction of the first day the person is in attendance in court in response to the process and
discharges the person’s duty for that day. (Section 61.001 (a)(2) of the Texas Government

Code.)
Section 61.0015 (a) of the Texas Government Code requires counties to file a quarterly claim with the

Comptroller’s Judiciary Section for reimbursement of $34 per day for jury service after the first day.

If you have additional questions or need further information concerning the Juror Program, please
contact the Comptroller’s Judiciary Section by e-mail at leonard.higgins@cpa.state.tx.us or by phone

at 1-800-531-5441, extension 6-6100.
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Thank you.
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