

- TO: Judge Keith Self Commissioner Susan Fletcher Commissioner Cheryl Williams Commissioner John Thomas Commissioner Duncan Webb
- FROM: Stacey Kemp, County Clerk
- DATE: November 27, 2017
- RE: AMENDMENT TO COUNTY CLERK'S FY 2018 FEE SCHEDULE

I am asking approval for an amendment to the County Clerk's FY 2018 fee schedule to include an administrative fee in the amount of \$30 for a defendant's failure to appear, or failure to satisfy a judgment for costs, fines and fees as set by the court. This administration fee is broken down as follows:

\$20.00 Texas State Comptroller\$ 6.00 Omnibase Services of Texas\$ 4.00 Collin County (offset operating costs)

The County Clerk will be utilizing OmniBase Services of Texas which allows counties to report a defendant's failure to pay costs, fines and fees to the Department of Public Safety which will restrict the defendants' ability to renew their driver's licenses until the balance owed is paid in full (Govt. Code 103.0213; Trans. Code 706.002(a), 706.006(b)).

There is not any additional expense to the county since the county currently has a contract in place. This is currently being utilized in other departments.