## STATE OF TEXAS COUNTY OF COLLIN

Resolved this

day of

Resolution #
--------------

## A RESOLUTION SUPPORTING THE EFFORTS OF COLLIN COUNTY FOR THE CITY OF MCKINNEY TOWARD RESTORATION OF THE COLLIN COUNTY COURTHOUSE

WHEREAS, the historic county courthouse, having served the county since it was completed in 1876, is in need of repair and upgrades; and

**WHEREAS,** Collin County submitted a Courthouse Preservation Master Plan, which was approved by Texas Historical Commission in 2002; and

**WHEREAS**, the Master Plan contains valuable information on the condition of the courthouse, prioritizes functional needs, and includes estimated costs for rehabilitation and restoration work; and

**WHEREAS,** since completion of the Master Plan in 2002, the condition of the courthouse has changed, the County's functional needs have changed, the cost estimates are outdated, and the Master Plan is in need of updating; and

**WHEREAS**, the Texas Historical Commission has determined that any county with an approved Master Plan that has not yet been funded for a full restoration or a planning grant can receive up to \$50,000 in funding to update that plan with a local match of \$5,000 from the county;

**WHEREAS**, Collin County, for the City of McKinney, intends to use the updated Master Plan to apply for a restoration grant in the next available grant cycle;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT** the Commissioners Court of Collin County, Texas, affirms by this vote its willingness, for the City of McKinney, to accept this funding award, to contribute the local match of \$5,000 (said match to be reimbursed by the City of McKinney) to support the City of McKinney in obtaining the services of a qualified historic preservation architect necessary to complete the Master Plan update, and hereby declares its complete support for this important project to preserve the Collin County Courthouse for future generations.

2019

resorved tims	any or	, 201).	
The Honorable C	hris Hill	<u>, <mark>Collin</mark> County</u> Judg	ge
COMMISSIONE	R Susan Fletcher	, Commissioner, Pct	. 1
COMMISSIONE	R Cheryl Williams	, Commissioner, Pct	. 2
COMMISSIONE	R Darrell Hale	, Commissioner, Pct	. 3
COMMISSIONE	D Dungen Wohl	, Commissioner, Pct	. 4