
 
 

 

Audit Report 

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE - PRECINCT 3-2 
JULY 1, 2015 – SEPTEMBER 30, 2015 

Status: Final 
 
 
 
 
 
 

For action:  For information: 

Judge John Payton Justice of the Peace Precinct 3-2  Jeff May County Auditor 

 Linda Riggs First Assistant Auditor 

 

 

 

 

 



Audit Report 
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE - PRECINCT 3-2 
JULY 1, 2015 – SEPTEMBER 30, 2015 

Report Summary 
 

As part of the 2015 Compliance Audit Plan, an audit of the Justice of the Peace - Precinct 3-2 was 
conducted in accordance with Texas Local Government Code §115.002. 

 

The overall objective of the audit was to provide assurance that internal controls are in place to ensure: 
 

 The officer has collected all the money they are obligated to collect 

 The money collected was properly remitted to the appropriate party 

 All funds are properly managed 

 All money is properly accounted for, accurately reported, and adequately safeguarded  

 The operations of the office conform to prescribed procedures 

 Exposure to potential risk is minimized  

 

 
The audit scope included an audit of banking, cash receipts and internal controls.  The time period 
audited was July 1, 2015 through September 30, 2015. 
 
Refer to the Observations and Recommendations section, as well as the Appendix for the results of the 
audit. 
 
This review was not intended to provide absolute assurance on all procedures, activities, or controls. We 
will continue to examine aspects of the office in compliance with statutes and to provide reasonable 
assurance that County assets are safeguarded and appropriately managed. 
 
An exit conference with the Justice of the Peace Precinct 3-2 was held on Tuesday, September 06, 2016 
to discuss this report. 
 
The time and assistance provided by the Justice of the Peace Precinct 3-2 and the staff during this 
engagement is greatly appreciated. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Observations and Recommendations 
 

Observation Recommendation Management Response 

FINDING NUMBER: 152  
 

Condition: 
During the audit period JP-
3-2 did not charge $0.10 
for the Statewide 
Repository Fee on (7) 
Driving while License 
Invalid and Expired Driver's 
License cases, when the 
fee should have been 
assessed.   
Effect: 
Collin County has not 
collected money they 
should have collected for 
fees. Therefore, the state 
did not receive monies 
that they should have 
received for the Statewide 
Repository Fee.   
Cause: 
The Statewide Repository 
Fee was not included on 
the Odyssey fee tables for 
the following types of 
cases: Driving while 
License Invalid and Expired 
Driver's License.  
Criteria: 
The Statewide Repository 
Fee is only to be assessed 
on offenses found in 
Section 102.022(b) of the 
Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure and Section 
102.101(8) of the Texas 
Government Code and 
payable upon conviction of 
a moving violation. The list 
of moving violations can 
be found in Title 37, Part 1, 
Chapter 15, Subchapter D 
rule § 15.89 of the Texas 
Administrative Code. 

A. Transaction Required: 
The Statewide Repository Fee of 
$0.10 should be assessed and 
disbursed on Driving while License 
Invalid and Expired Driver's License 
cases. 
 
B. Internal Control Change:  
Internal controls should be 
implemented to ensure the fees 
charged and collected from the 
public are in line with the approved 
fee schedule and statutes.  

 

A. Response:  
There was confusion when the 10 
cent fee when into effect & how it 
related to “Expired License” 
violations.  Once the question was 
answered by the Justice Court 
Training Center, the correction was 
made.  
 
 
B. Response: There are controls in 
place to implement new fees for all 
Collin County Justice Courts.  Any 
ideas to the contrary are false.  The 
“Fee List” is checked and verified 
every year and is available to the 
public for inspection at any time.    
 
The confusion came when Officers 
were writing citations for Expired 
Driver’s License.  There is no statute 
in the Transportation Code Titled, 
“Expired License”.  That was the 
confusion on the 10 cent fee.  We 
asked the Justice Court Training 
Center about the issue.  Based on 
their response and communication 
with the Auditor’s Office, a procedure 
change was made and all issues were 
resolved.    
 
 
 
 
 
 



Driving while License 
Invalid and Expired Driver's 
License are considered 
moving violations 
offenses.  Accordingly, the 
$0.10 Statewide 
Repository Fee should 
have been properly 
assessed and disbursed for 
Driving while License 
Invalid and Expired Driver's 
License. 

 

 

 


