COURT ORDER NO. <u>2017- \ Co ? -03-06</u>

THE STATE OF TEXAS

COUNTY OF COLLIN

Subject: Resolution, Supporting Vehicle Registration Block for Nonpayment of Tolls by Habitual Violators – Commissioners Court

On **March 6, 2017,** the Commissioners Court of Collin County, Texas, met in **regular session** with the following members present and participating, to wit:

Keith Self Susan Fletcher Cheryl Williams Chris Hill Duncan Webb County Judge, Presiding Commissioner, Precinct 1 Commissioner, Precinct 2 Commissioner, Precinct 3 Commissioner, Precinct 4

During such session the court considered adoption of the following resolution supporting vehicle registration block for nonpayment of tolls by habitual violators.

WHEREAS, the mission of the North Texas Tollway Authority ("NTTA") is to provide a safe and reliable toll road system, increase value and mobility options for its customers, operate with best practices in processes and procedures, protect its bondholders, and partner to meet the North Texas region's growing need for transportation infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, NTTA was formed to ensure local control of toll revenues to support mobility projects here in North Texas in the absence of adequate traditional transportation funding sources; and

WHEREAS, Collin County is a founding member of NTTA and supports maintaining a strong financial system to advance mobility in the County and throughout North Texas; and

WHEREAS, in 2013 the Texas Legislature authorized vehicle registration block for nonpayment of tolls by habitual violators with 100 or more unpaid tolls within a year, after having been issued at least two notices of nonpayment; and

WHEREAS, NTTA Board of Directors has since entered into interlocal agreements with Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Grayson, Johnson, Rockwall and Tarrant counties and the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles to implement vehicle registration block for habitual toll violators; and

WHEREAS, in sustaining mobility and quality of life for its residents, the Commissioners Court of Collin County supports the effective collection of tolls from customers choosing to use NTTA toll roads, including tools such as vehicle registration block for habitual violators, as authorized by the Texas Legislature; and

WHEREAS, Collin County Senator Van Taylor contemplates filing a Senate Bill during the 85th Texas Legislature to require implementation of vehicle registration block by the Collin County tax office for county resident habitual toll violators.

COURT ORDER NO. <u>2017-</u> \ \(\frac{1}{\chi} \) \ \ \(\frac{3}{\chi} \) \ \ -03-06 Page 2

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Commissioners Court of Collin County hereby supports legislation authorizing vehicle registration block for nonpayment of tolls by Collin County resident habitual violators.

Passed and approved on the 6th day of March, 2017.



Keith Self, County Judge

Susan Fletcher, Commissioner, Pct.

Cheryl Williams Commissioner, Pct. 2

Chris Hill, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Duncan Webb, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Stacey Kemp, Ex-Officio Cle Commissioners Court Collin County, T E X A S