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Audit Report
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE - PRECINCT 4
APRIL 1, 2015 — SEPTEMBER 30, 2015

Report Summary

As part of the 2015 Compliance Audit Plan, an audit of the Justice of the Peace - Precinct 4 was
conducted in accordance with Texas Local Government Code §115.002.

The overall objective of the audit was to provide assurance that internal controls are in place to ensure:

e The officer has collected all the money they are obligated to collect

e The money collected was properly remitted to the appropriate party

e All funds are properly managed

e All money is properly accounted for, accurately reported, and adequately safeguarded
e The operations of the office conform to prescribed procedures

e Exposure to potential risk is minimized

The audit scope included an audit of banking, cash receipts and internal controls. The time period
audited was April 1, 2015 through September 30, 2015.

Refer to the Observations and Recommendations section, as well as the Appendix for the results of the
audit.

This review was not intended to provide absolute assurance on all procedures, activities, or controls. We
will continue to examine aspects of the office in compliance with statutes and to provide reasonable
assurance that County assets are safeguarded and appropriately managed.

An exit conference with the Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 was held on Thursday, June 30, 2016 to
discuss this report.

The time and assistance provided by the Justice of the Peace Precinct 4 and the staff during this
engagement is greatly appreciated.



Observations and Recommendations

Observation

| Recommendation

| Management Response

FINDING NUMBER: 153

Condition:

During the audit period,
JP-4 did not charge $0.10
for the Statewide
Repository Fee on (15)
Driving while License
Invalid and Expired Driver's
License cases, when the
fee should have been
assessed.

Effect:

Collin County has not
collected money they
should have collected for
fees. Therefore, the state
did not receive monies
that they should have
received for the Statewide
Repository Fee.

Cause:

The Statewide Repository
Fee was not included on
the Odyssey fee tables for
the following types of
cases: Driving while
License Invalid and Expired
Driver's License.

Criteria:

The Statewide Repository
Fee is only to be assessed
on offenses found in
Section 102.022(b) of the
Texas Code of Criminal
Procedure and Section
102.101(8) of the Texas
Government Code and
payable upon conviction of
a moving violation. The list
of moving violations can
be found in Title 37, Part 1,
Chapter 15, Subchapter D

A. Transaction Required:

The Statewide Repository Fee of
$0.10 should be assessed and
disbursed on Driving while License
Invalid and Expired Driver's License
cases.

B. Internal Control Change:
Internal controls should be
implemented to ensure the fees
charged and collected from the
public are in line with the approved
fee schedule and statutes.

rule § 15.89 of the Texas

A. Response:
As soon as verification was made the

correction was implemented.

B. Response:

Offense code updated. This was an
Odyssey issue and updated by the

Functional Analyst, Jessica Griffith.

Status of Recommendation:
Repository Fee for Driving While
License invalid and Expired Driver’s
License cases, have been updated
and have the charge the $0.10
required fee.




Administrative Code.
Driving while License
Invalid and Expired Driver's
License are considered
moving violations
offenses. Accordingly, the
$0.10 Statewide
Repository Fee should
have been properly
assessed and disbursed for
Driving while License
Invalid and Expired Driver's
License cases.




