\$

Commissioners Court

A resolution of the Collin County Commissioners Court supporting Senate Bill 234 (SB 234) and House Bill 749 (HB 749).

Whereas, taxpayers should not be required to pay for lobbying efforts that advocate against their interests or pay to influence legislators for causes they do not support; and

Whereas, ending taxpayer-funded lobbying was identified as a priority legislative issue at the 2018 and 2020 Republican State Conventions; and

Whereas, SB 234 and HB 749, as filed, would prohibit a political subdivision from spending public funds to (1) hire an individual required to register as a lobbyist under Chapter 305 (*Registration of Lobbyists*), or (2) pay a nonprofit state association or organization that hires or contracts with an individual required to register as a lobbyist under Chapter 305; and

Whereas, SB 234 and HB 749, as filed, would not prohibit any state association or organization from providing education and training services or legislative guidance and updates to their members; and

Whereas, SB 234 and HB 749, as filed, would not prohibit an elected officer of a political subdivision from advocating for or against or otherwise influencing or attempting to influence the outcome of legislation pending before the legislature while acting as an officer of the political subdivision; and

Whereas, SB 234 and HB 749, as filed, would not prohibit an employee of a political subdivision from advocating for or against or otherwise influencing or attempting to influence the outcome of legislation pending before the legislature if those actions would not require the employee to register as a lobbyist under Chapter 305; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the Collin County Commissioners Court offers formal support for the passage of SB 234 and HB 749, as filed.

A motion was made, seconded, and carried by a majority of the court members in attendance during a regular session on Monday, April 12, 2021.

Chris Hill, County Judge

Susan Fletcher, Commissioner, Pct 1

Cheryl Whiams, Commissioner, Pct 2

Darrell Hale, Commissioner, Pct 3

Voted No

Duncan Webb, Commissioner, Pct 4

ATTEST: Stacey Kemp, County Clerk