Commissioners Court

A resolution of the Collin County Commissioners Court supporting Committee Substitute for Senate Bill 10 (CSSB 10).

Whereas, taxpayers should not be required to pay for lobbying efforts that advocate against their interests or pay to influence legislators for causes they do not support; and

Whereas, ending taxpayer-funded lobbying was identified as a priority legislative issue at the 2018 and 2020 Republican State Conventions; and

Whereas, CSSB 10, as presented, would prohibit a county or municipality from spending public money or providing compensation to influence or attempt to influence the outcome of any legislation; except that

Whereas, CSSB 10, as presented, would not prohibit any elected county or municipal officer from advocating for or against or otherwise influencing or attempting to influence legislation; and

Whereas, CSSB 10, as presented, would not prohibit any county or municipal employee from advocating for or against or otherwise influencing or attempting to influence legislation if those actions would not require a person to register as a lobbyist; and

Whereas, CSSB 10, as presented, would not prohibit a county or municipality from reimbursing an officer or employee of the county or municipality for direct travel expenses incurred while engaging in allowable activities; and

Whereas, CSSB 10, as presented, would not prohibit a county or municipality from paying fees or dues to a nonprofit state association or organization that advocates for or against or otherwise influences or attempts to influence the outcome of legislation, unless the association (a) pays or otherwise compensates an individual required to register as a lobbyist or (b) advocates for or against or otherwise influences or attempts to influence the outcome of legislation related to property taxation; now, therefore, be it

Resolved, that the Collin County Commissioners Court offers formal support for the passage of CSSB 10, as presented.

A motion was made, seconded, and carried by a majority of the court members in attendance during a regular session on Monday, April 12, 2021.

Chris Hill, County Judge

Susan Fletcher, Commissioner, Pct 1

Cheryl Whiams, Commissioner, Pct 2

Darrell Hale, Commissioner, Pct 3

Voted No

Duncan Webb, Commissioner, Pct 4

ATTEST: Stacey Kemp, County Clerk