paycheck. These mandatory deductions
include federal income tax and FICA
withholding as well as any garnishments and
levies.

You may authorize other deductions to be
withheld from your paycheck, such as
deductions for health insurance,
supplemental coverages, and uniforms.

Regular employees, including those
working part-time, are required to contribute
7% of wages to their Texas County and
District Retirement System (TCDRS)
retirement savings account. This contribution
will automatically be withheld from your
paycheck each payday. The amount of the
county match is determined each year by
Commissioners’ Court. The county match
becomes vested after eight years of service.

Regular full-time employees who transition
to an elected position will not be paid for
previously accrued time, such as paid time
off.

No Pay Status

In some instances, you may take an unpaid
leave of absence. Except when regulated by
state, federal, or local laws, or for time off of
less than eight hours, you must use eligible
earned time off before you may be placed on
unpaid leave of absence.

A suspension is not considered a leave of
absence. If you are put on an unpaid
suspension, you may not be eligible to use
accrued time off benefits.

Breaks

Employees scheduled to work at least an
eight-hour day generally receive two
15-minute breaks when feasible. However,
there may be times when departmental
workload or deadlines may necessitate
working through a normal rest break. There
are no State of Texas or federal laws
requiring a break, and all breaks are at the
discretion of your management.

Breaks are designed to provide you a
chance to relax and unwind so that you can
return to work refreshed. They are not
intended to allow you to come to work later
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or leave earlier. To maximize the benefit,
break times generally occur midway between
your start time and meal break and again
between your meal break and your
departure. In order to ensure the department
functions smoothly, some departments may
have assigned break periods.

Since breaks are considered paid time, you
may not leave the premises without your
supervisor’s approval.

Overtime and Compensatory
Time

Collin County administers overtime and
compensatory time in accordance with the
requirements of state and federal laws. As a
government employer, Collin County is

exempt from some of the requirements that
are traditionally seen in private employment.

Collin County will generally award
compensatory time off rather than overtime
compensation. However, in some situations,
overtime compensation may be paid to
non-exempt employees when approved, in
writing, by the County Judge.

Approval must be obtained from your
manager before working overtime or
compensatory time or taking compensatory
time off.

Approval must be obtained from
your manager before working

overtime or compensatory time or
taking compensatory time off.

Overtime

Exempt employees are generally not
eligible for overtime pay. Exceptions must be
approved in advance, in writing, by the
County Judge.

Approved non-exempt overtime is paid at
1.5 times your hourly pay rate if you have
actual hours worked of more than 40 hours
in the week (or 84 hours per pay period if
you are a Juvenile Detention Officer).
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